Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

An Extract From Part Two

In Book 2 ; NaNoWriMo on December 6, 2011 at 6:58 pm

“It was very dark in here, there was music playing but not too loud and it looked like there were a few levels. I didn’t know where to start looking for Ben, there were buckets of beer and champagne scattered around the room for anyone to take. There was also a bar at the back of the room which looked to be serving food I couldn’t make out what it was and the someone walked past me with a bacon sandwich. My stomach growled at me, I headed to the bar and took a sandwich, I started eating it and tried to think of a way to find Ben in this three story mess. A dribble of ketchup ran down my chin and I reached up to dab it away when I felt someone do it for me. I looked up to see Benidict, Arch Vampire of London licking ketchup off his finger the symbolism of the scarlet liquid was striking.

“Hello Ben” I said looking into his eyes, I knew he couldn’t Gaze me with my Nan’s pentacle tucked in my shirt. “Livy” he responded extending his hand to help me up. I stood up with out his help he tutted “What is the great emergency?” “How did you know I was here?” I asked him. His face became conflicted “I am torn in how to answer that” I sighed the mind games had started already “Just answer the question Ben” he continued. “I smelled you Livy, I can smell you coming a mile off, I am drawn to your particular scent” he took a deep breath in through his nose for emphasis. I shuddered, I had to ask. “Can we go someone where more quiet? I don’t really want to be competing with this noise” I gestured around me. He nodded and walked forward, I followed him up the stairs and through a door to the back of the room. The noise behind me muffled and the lights had become brighter, he led me to a white door marked staff only and went through.

We walked into an office, there was a man with long hair snorting cocaine off of a desk, the sign on the desk read bar manager but I was betting this wasn’t him. The man stood up defensively, I felt the tickle of Gaze and heard Ben “Leave us” the man obliged and walked out swiftly. Ben pulled up a chair for me and leant against the desk so that I was lower than him, I doubted that it was an accident.

He looked down at me and now that we were alone I started to feel nervous and to be honest a little weirded out about the fact that I had kissed another man earlier. I didn’t own Ben anything we weren’t together and I had no intention of dating a dead man but there was sense of betrayal being around him. “You seem nervous Liv, more so than usual” why could he read my emotions so well, I put my hand into my pocket and pulled out the note. I went to hand it to him but when my fingers touched his the coldness of them made me jump and I dropped the note. I bent to pick it up and whacked my head on his knee, he laughed above me, a low chuckle. I fixed him with a glare “Shut up” I mumbled this made him laugh more. I thrust the note at him and he took it still smiling and began to unfold it. I saw him read it and then read it again, his face had become serious and he placed the note gently beside him on the desk.”

Leave a comment