Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

Blood is Thicker Than Water

In Book 2 ; NaNoWriMo, The Olivia Everett Series, Writing on January 5, 2012 at 9:40 pm

“I instinctively reached for my rucksack and then realised I had left it upstairs I searched around the room for anything wooden to use a stake. There was a pool table at the back of the bar, I would have to put a lot of strength into my blow but it would do. Vampires are so allergic to wood that as soon as I broke the skin it would sink easily into his heart like any sharpened stake. I ran to the table picked up the stake and then turned back to Ralph. Ben was standing next to the big vampire and although his voice wasn’t raised I could hear everything he was saying. “Brass put Ralph down now. You have about forty seconds until he dies and if you let that happen I will not be able to save you” Brass grunted but didn’t let go. Every other vampire in the room seemed alert and ready to strike. I didn’t care what he was saying my brother was choking to death. I ran towards them and raised the pool cue in the air to get more momentum into my blow.

Ben looked at me with a stern expression and I don’t know what made me trust him but I slowed my strike a little. I put the tip of the cue on the vampire’s skin and pushed slightly I felt him go ridged. “Let go or I put this threw your heart”. He turned his head slightly to me and spoke in a voice like he had just smoked a million cigarettes and downed a pint of whisky. “I will snap his neck before you can kill me” I knew what he said was true but I also knew that Ralph had just fallen into unconsciousness. I started to panic and panic made me not think straight. My only thought was that I needed to distract him, get him off of Ralph in the next ten seconds. I did a stupid thing I smashed my hand down onto an empty glass on the bar. I felt the glass bite into my hand and hot liquid seep down my fingers. Brass’ attention immediately switched to my hand and he let go of Ralph. I watched Ralph take a deep breath and knew I didn’t care what happened next.”

  1. The scene is charged, but I feel a little confused. Why would her smashing a glass with her hand startle the vamp so much that he dropped her brother from a death grip?

    • I mean, was it just the blood that resulted or is there something else going on?

      • It’s the idea that the smell of freshly spilt blood would cause any impulsive vampire to loose control. Brass is impulsive enough to rise to an insult so he would be reactive to fresh blood .It’s the idea that the smell of freshly spilt blood would cause any impulsive vampire to loose control. Brass is impulsive enough to rise to an insult so he would be reactive to fresh blood .

Leave a Reply

