Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

Chapters, Who Need Them!

In The Olivia Everett Series on December 29, 2011 at 11:53 am

After completing a second novel this November I looked back over my manuscripts and decided that they felt more like two parts of the same book. It was then that I decided to merge the two into Book 1: London’s Bleeding. Once decided I then had to start putting in Chapters.

When I write for the first time I tend to write one long string of prose without any chapters. I do try hard to put in paragraphs (mostly). This style of writing leads me to the rather long and drawn out process of adding chapters! I am aware that a book needs chapters if not for structure then so the reader can stop reading at a set moment rather than in the middle of the action. Some of the main feedback I got from readers was there need for chapters.

It was long long long process but after it was completed I was relieved. I now feel like I can set myself realistic editing goals for example I will complete the redraft of chapters 1-3 this week.

Overall I think chapters are needed for reader and writer. In the future I will try to put them in. Its just that Olivia talks too damn fast. 😉

Leave a Reply

