Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

Warm Up Sprints for NaNoWriMo

In The Olivia Everett Series on October 16, 2011 at 11:59 am

During November I will be participating in NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month), this is the amazing feat of writing a 50,000 novel in 30 days. I am very excited about this challenge! I have chosen to write the second book of the Olivia Everett series and in order to prepare I am going to be doing some small writing exercises in order to ‘warm up’ for the marathon that is NaNoWriMo.

 

 

Getting to know my characters is very important to me, I think that knowing every detail about them is very important. This is a short exercise to get to know the idiosyncrasies and seemingly unimportant details of Olivia and Ben’s pockets.

 

The Contents of Olivia Everett’s rucksack

  • Extra arrows
  • Stale polos
  • An empty water bottle
  • Keys
  • Oyster card
  • Stakes
  • Garlic essence
  • Purse
  • £24.07 in the purse
  • 1 debit card
  • 1 expired library card
  • 1 café Nero loyalty card
  • Scraps of paper
  • 1 pencil
  • 1 pen
  • Iphone
  • Plasters
  • Bandages
  • Safety pins
  • Antiseptic wipes
  • Grandmothers charm bracelet
  • Grandmothers charm bag

The contents of Ben’s pockets

  • Wallet
  • Three debit cards
  • £250.00 in cash
  • £7.28 in change
  • Oyster card
  • Iphone
  • Pack of mints
  • Small daguerreotype of his wife and son
  • Condom
  • Keys to pub

 

 

If you would like to be writing buddies my NaNo user name is Mrsmj

  1. I like the idea of looking at what a character carries with them on a regular basis. You can tell a lot about them that way. What’s your NaNo username and I’ll add you. 🙂 Mine is DreamWeaver010

  2. My Nano name is Mrsmj but I don’t think the NaNo buddies option it working 😦

    • Eh, I think you’re right. I know I was having a hard time with it a couple of days ago. I hope it doesn’t delete the people I’ve already added. When it comes back up, I’ll add you. 🙂

  3. I love the idea of listing the rucksack contents. A unique way of making a catalog of a character. I’ve done NanoWriMo four times but only succeded once. It made me surprisingly happy to hit that fifty thousand goal. The other times I wrote my way into a corner and couldn’t go on.

    Maybe a rucksack inventory, written ahead of time, could provide extra plot devices, other than simply deliniating a character.

    Good luck and good writing.

Leave a Reply

