Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

A Writer’s Plea

In Writing on September 28, 2011 at 6:33 pm

So, this year I have decided to do National Novel
Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) for those who don’t know it is a writing festival in which lots of writers from all over the world attempt to complete a fifty thousand word novel in 30 days.

I would really like to use this time to write Olivia Everett book two. I will only be able to do this when I have completed the first draft of book one. Although the book is completed in handwritten format I am still struggling to get it typed up in quickly. I find the whole process incredibly tedious.

I sit down to start typing it up and become bored easily, I have too many ideas that I want to explore but I have promised myself I would get it done by November.

I am writing this as a plea to any writers. How do I get through the handwritten stuff quickly? Any advice about self motivation? Anything?

  1. Hire a kid to do it. That’s what a local writer did, hired my teenaged sister to type up her notes. Then all she had to do was edit any typo’s.
    Or set a goal and do that many pages per day? Good luck at NaNo!

  2. I’m in no position to give advice since I haven’t been writing creatively in weeks, but from my past experience, if you can set aside time just for the handwritten stuff, with a real timer!, each day, then you’ll be free to move on to all those other ideas. Whether it’s 20 minutes or 2 hours, just try it. As for those other ideas that are brewing, I’d go ahead and write them down ASAP, before you forget them. NaNoWriMo can be really fun, and I should do it again. I’ve had one successful year where I reached 50K and two not so great years where I bailed after 13K or so. I blame my children. 😉 Good luck!

  3. I haven’t handwritten anything in years, but when I translate old stories (and by translate I mean read a line and either delete or rewrite it several thousand times) I throw on some music, grab a cup of Joe, and Jump right into it without pause. Sometimes I’ll even throw on a movie so I have something to else to focus on as well so I wont get bored too easily.

    As for veteran advice for NaNoWriMo that you asked about in a previous comment:

    Allot time, stay focused, don’t worry about errors or how it looks, and just push through to your daily goal. If it looks like crud, wave a dismissive hand and keep on writing. There’ll be time to fix later, and although it will be tough to turn a blind eye to it, just remember what you’ll have accomplished in only a month, regardless of what it looks like.

    Good luck and have a blast!

Leave a Reply

