Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

Vane, Vampire With a Grudge

In Book 1 on September 23, 2011 at 2:41 pm

““You are aware that I am Arch vampire of London yes?” I nodded again “ This means that all the vampire community owe allegiance to me and those with allegiance are required to live only on donated blood or leave London” I nodded for a third time “ you are also aware that you kill at least two vampires a night who are feeding on unwilling victims”

“I know all this Ben put the puzzle together” I snapped

“Tell me Liv. If your body count is racking up and my vampires aren’t hunting who are you dusting every evening?” The puzzle clicked and it showed on my face “Yes Livy we have been fighting a revolt for the last three hundred years” I shook off my curiosity

“I don’t really care about you vampire politics Ben what does this have to do with what happened tonight?” he was visually pissed at me and the jaw muscle was jumping again.

“I do not have time to explain to a child” he spat at me.

“Then do it fast!” I retorted.

What he said next was incredibly fast and my ears worked overtime to make sense of it.

“When a vampire is made their first drink is directly related to their strength in the first few years. Virgin’s blood is the strongest and the more innocent the more potent” It dawned on me what he was getting at and what Trista had recalled in her mimicked voice “The blood will make you stronger”

“Someone is killing kids” I said more to myself that to him

“It would appear so” Ben straightened it was clear that this bothered him

“Who is this bastard?”

“His name is Vane. He is ruthless and inconspicuous only a few of us have ever seen him in the flesh” His lips curled into a grimace as he said the name like he’s tasted something bad. “We know very little about him except his want for power is all consuming. It is said that he killed his own maker because he couldn’t stand someone having control over him” Ben wasn’t looking at me anymore he was somewhere else, somewhere dark with Vane. It was severely unnerving to see him like this. Vane sounded like the thing that goes bump in the night.

He suddenly snapped back from his revere and fixed his eyes on me. “That is all I can tell you.” he moved closer “Unless you have had a change of heart and want to join our little army?” he smiled full and genuine I went to step back

“Thanks for the info Ben I like to be informed” I was babbling because he was too close to me. His hand was suddenly cupping my face and his thumb caressed my cheek and his fingers deep in my hair. I lost my words and my heart was in my mouth. I could feel all the blood rushing to my face making me blush. He was so near to me that he whispered barely audible “I wait for the day you will come running into my arms Olivia” and then he was gone. The door moved slightly and I knew he had gone back into the office. I stood for a moment regaining my composure. My breath was hurried like I’d just ran up a flight of stairs and my heart was racing. Fuck why did he have to smell so good shouldn’t he smell of dead things?” “

  1. I liked it, even though there’s obviously a lot missing. Did you leave out punctuation on purpose?

  2. Thanks Whitney, this is a very first draft unedited version! 😛

  3. So how far into the story is this excerpt from?

Leave a Reply

