Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

Reality and Fiction : One and The Same?

In Book 1 on September 18, 2011 at 11:00 am

Anyone who writes, have you ever noticed how people from your life creep into your writing?

When I told my husband that Olivia’s husband had died he was annoyed. “you killed me off?” he asked. Of course I hadn’t written it that way but when I thought back Olivia’s husband had a lot of the qualities of mine!

James Everett had my husbands eyes, his loving heart and his fondness of children. I was shocked that I had done this and it played on my mind quite a bit.

A few days later whilst playing poker I looked across the table to my husband and he wiggled his eyebrows at me . I was blown away, a few hours earlier I had written a scene with Ben (the arch vampire of London) in which he did the exact same expression to Olivia. I realised what I had done!

I split my husband in two, his kind and soft side made up James Everett, his sexy and cocky side made up Ben. I guess it’s impossible to separate your own experiences from your writing. I just never thought I would add them in such a literal way!

  1. I just had to laugh when you wrote your husband asked, “You killed me off?” Too funny!

  2. I understand this. It’s easy to do but you have to be careful of “biography” syndrome =P It definitely helps to have someone to base a character on though because you know how you feel about that person and what they’re like. I use characteristics of people that I see around all the time.

Leave a Reply

