Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

Vampire Nest

In Book 1 on September 5, 2011 at 2:48 pm

After a rather intense conversation with Ben, Liv follows her instincts and gets caught in a dangerous situation…

“It was dark in there almost pitch black. I looked for the couple and my eyes were drawn to a small sliver of light to my left. I walked forward slowly and readied my bow. I peeked through the gap and saw the girl on the floor. Her skirt had ridden up and her legs were covered in patches of dirt. Her hair was tousled like he had used it to throw her to the floor. She had thick lines of mascara running down he pale cheeks. She was terrified and she looked like a cow waiting for slaughter. Her huge brown eyes darted around the room looking for an escape. He was above her cackling

“What’s wrong Eva?” he laughed “You were so keen a moment ago” he was crazed with his head thrown back and eyes bulging wildly.

My foot was almost in the room when something made me stop. Another vampire was entering the square of light he was more composed than the other. His hands were at his side and he moved gracefully and cat-like.

“What have you brought us Tom?”

Us. Was he talking in the third person or had I just walked into a nest? My question was answered when two female vampires stepped out of the shadows. They looked loonier than Tom and they moved together like sister tornados. Moving through each other like snakes in a pit, I couldn’t figure out who moved first it was as if they were fluid.

“She’s a bit skinny Tom” the women hissed. Again, I couldn’t tell who’d spoken first or if they both had. It was very unsettling

“We told you we like butch girls” they laughed and the sound raised the hairs on my arms. Walk away Liv, walk away, she’s dead anyway don’t give them another body. I couldn’t I was riveted to the spot, my heart controlling my head. I knew I couldn’t save her but I also couldn’t watch her die.

“Shut up Matilda” Tom snapped “I don’t see you volunteering to hunt” one name for both girls. Matilda pouted and then they were both on the floor at the girls face. A hand from each vampire on either side of the victim, he had called her Eva. She tried to flinch away but Matilda had her gripped too tight and she yelped in pain. Gaze her I willed them Gaze her away from all this.

“What’s wrong Angel” Matilda asked Eva “You should be thrilled, you should feel blessed, you have been chosen to die for your gods” the voice rose manically, god, this bird was messed up. Eva screamed.

“Please, I don’t want to die, I have a daughter she’s waiting for me at home” She was trying to humanise herself this is the advise they give you in self defence lessons. Make your attacker see you as human but this wasn’t a good option when vampires see you as cattle. Matilda laughed again “I can smell that your lying darling” she kissed the girl and during the kiss bit hard into her lower lip and jerked backwards taking the lip with her. Eva screamed again and I held back bile. The blood poured freely from Eva’s lip and she scrabbled around holding her face. The blood made the vampires noticeably excited and tension filled the room like a lion’s den”

(c) Karla Mouncey-Jaggers 2011

  1. Loving Matilda the Siamese-like lesbian (?) vampires. Only makes me want to know more about them!

  2. Frightening. What an ending.

  3. I really liked how you described the Vampires and it really gave me a full sense of the scene. Also the way you describe how the Olivia character means to you and how you feel when you sit down and write the character reminded me of when i was thinking of the characters in Super Human.

Leave a Reply

