Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

My Dear Friend

In Book 1 on August 31, 2011 at 3:45 pm

I often have to correct myself when talking about my protagonist. I find myself referring to her as if she were a real person or friend. I say things like “I’m too busy with Olivia to focus on that” or “Olivia does that”. When talking about this with my non-writer friends I find that they often ask me to seek medical help. When discussing this with my writer friends they say its very normal and (although possibly unhealthy when your character is tormented vampire hunter) a good thing that I relate to my characters.

I find that when I write it is like I am an invader in Liv’s head, taking notes on what she feels and thinks. When she is having a really interesting an engaging conversation I find myself getting excited and involved with her. When she is seeing a rather harrowing scene I feel her pain and I have physical symptoms with her like sweaty palms.

Having said all this I also find it very easy to put her in a box, when I am finished writing or my tired eyes make me go to bed I put her away like my favourite toy. She lives at my desk or in my notepad, I find it impossible to access her if I am writing on a scrap piece of paper.

I think of her with a fondness that I associate with an old friend and I hope everyone else will love her with me.

  1. Very lovely and well written, I can’t wait to meet her

  2. It’s a love only a writer can understand.

Leave a Reply

