Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

An Inconvenient Convenience

In Book 1 on August 15, 2011 at 6:14 pm

 When I first wrote out book 1 of the Olivia Everett Series I hand wrote it all in several notepads, the reason I did this was because most of my ideas came to me whilst away from a computer i.e. on a train or at work. Keeping a notepad nearby seemed the obvious solution but when I was at home near my computer I tried to write my ideas on a keyboard, I found this a frustrating experience. My fingers couldn’t not type fast enough to keep up with my brain and I came out with pages of red and green underlining. I also felt that my ideas seemed flat, almost tainted by the act of putting them into digital format . I was instantly off put and handwrote the rest of the book, I realised that writing with a pen and paper gave me a great sense of convenience it also made me feel connected to the eons of writer before me who put pen, quill or charcoal to paper or parchment. The very act of handwriting inspired me to write.

However I now find myself in the painful process of having to type up my handwritten notes so I am asking myself if it is worth overcoming my conflict with computers and start typing up all my work to begin with.

I also feel a strong aversion to Kindles

I feel like Rupert Giles…

Jenny Calendar: Honestly, what is it about them that bothers you so much?
Giles: The smell.
Jenny Calendar: Computers don’t smell, Rupert.
Giles: I know. Smell is the most powerful trigger to the memory there is. A certain flower, or a-a whiff of smoke can bring up experiences long forgotten. Books smell musty and-and-and rich. The knowledge gained from a computer is a – it, uh, it has no-no texture, no-no context. It’s-it’s there and then it’s gone. If it’s to last, then-then the getting of knowledge should be, uh, tangible, it should be, um, smelly.”

  1. I like their conversation. The sense of smell is amazing! I was actually thinking about blogging about it not long ago.

    • I so sympathise with Giles! Books are so tactile and the smell of a really well read library book is amazing! Do you ever listen the Buffy re-watch podcast? I’m so addicted! You should check it out. Karla x

Leave a Reply

