Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

When I first had the idea for The “Olivia Everett” Series…

In Book 1 on August 14, 2011 at 3:20 pm

 

When I first had the idea for The “Olivia Everett” series I was sitting on a train listening to a podcast about paranormal romance. I was enjoying hearing about some of my favourite authors and their methods and muses for writing. I came to me, in the last few years almost every vampire/paranormal novel I have read had become predictable.

Don’t get me wrong, predictable is not a bad thing, I loved guessing the ending before I’d gotten there or figuring out which character was a were or which was magickal. I figured the reason I has turned into the Sherlock of paranormal fiction was because I knew the dogma that each of these books should follow and I thought. I can do that. It was a whim at first, I started to imagine my hero/heroine and all of a sudden like being hit by a car the first scene was in being played in my head. I think I would have missed my stop if it hadn’t been the last one on the line. I saw in perfect detail my heroine running through the streets ofLondonchasing a vampire intoWaterloostation and then dusting him in the middle of Friday night drunken crowds. It was an incredible rush.

At the time I was working at a theme park playing a Vampire bride, my job was to walk around in character and scare children. This was the perfect mindset to let Liv grow. The day after my epiphany I woke in the morning with the whole book in my head. Not exact chapters, exact words or exact scenes but the bones of book 1. It was a beautiful day and I sat in the garden at 8am in my dressing gown with a pot of tea and wrote the outline of the entire book.

I then spent the next hour or so writing bios on all the main characters and giving them names. Olivia came to me out of a discussion about how English I wanted the book to be an using a Shakespearean name seemed to fit, I yo yoed between Olivia and Viola but when I started thinking about her voice I heard her saying “keep it together Liv” she had told me her name and I was going to listen. The next two hours I wrote out the first chapter until I realised I hadn’t eaten or been to the toilet in five hours. As usual when I’m writing it was my physical body not my head that made me stop.

My best friend Mr Lewis was arriving for afternoon tea in half an hour and I rushed to get dressed and finish the chapter. I read it to him over scones and champagne in the freakishly hot April of 2011.

It took me two months to finish the first draft, I think it only took me this long because I was getting married whilst writing it. Now I am spending my spare time getting it typed up so I can start sharing Liv with the world.

She might not be the most friendly of heroines but she’s dying to meet you…

Leave a Reply

