Karla Mouncey-Jaggers

After a long week

In Book 1 on August 14, 2011 at 10:36 am

After a long week of work I sit at my desk to begin typing up some more pages. With my kitten watching me from my bed, my mug of tea is steaming and music blaring next door I sit and let Liv talk to me.

As she strides down the streets ofLondonin my mind I silently try to take notes on what she thinks, feels and does.

Sometimes I wonder if she exists…

“I felt a sense of inevitability, and underlying feeling of predetermination. Not as strong as déjà vu but there nonetheless. I was nearing the window and I could see rows of sleeping bags in many different designs and colours. Everything was fine and then it struck me when had I ever seen a group of children so still. I bent down to catch a glimpse of one of their faces, I leant on the window to get my balance and it creaked which made me jump. I stepped inside and a smell hit me it was a metallic smell, strong and fresh. I knew that smell. I pulled back a sleeping bag, the boy inside was deadly still, his eyes were closed and his hands were lifeless at his ears as if he was reaching for something. He looked like he was sleeping except for the wound at his neck, two round puncture holes with deep purple bruising. His wound mirrored my own.”

(c) Karla Mouncey-Jaggers 2011

  1. Getting to know our characters can be a surreal experience. They do end up feeling real sometimes, and that’s part of what makes writing with them so exciting I think! It’s like we’re really sharing in a whole other world and life that we can never lead. Maybe that’s what drives us to be authors in the end. 🙂

    ~Ashlee
    http://ashleesch.com
    http://theDragonsHoard.bigcartel.com

  2. I am now officially placing the first order for this novel!
    and this time i wont leave such good reading on a coach…

  3. Nice read ;))

Leave a Reply

